Courage & Spice
Courage and Spice
Belonging to Yourself with Nici Wikes
0:00
-48:30

Belonging to Yourself with Nici Wikes

The joy and fulfilment of living solo

I’m so excited for you all to meet my newest friend: Nici Wickes. Cookbook author, beloved TV star, restaurant reviewer and food editor for various publications, Nici is a national treasure here in Aotearoa.

We discuss the often undervalued experience of living alone. Nici speaks candidly about finding joy and fulfilment inside of a full midlife, living solo, and what she has learned about herself.

Our conversation moves through Nici’s experiences during New Zealand's lockdowns when she kept herself and her followers company with cooking videos. This reveals the powerful impact social media can have in fostering community and connection. Her reflections on the importance of creating meaningful connections without following the well-worn script are filled with humour and heartfelt honesty.

I know you are going to love Nici!

Quoteable bits:

"I look back now, and that was a big part of writing A Quiet Kitchen, which is, as you say, it's only a cookbook on the surface, to be honest, and the rest of is sort of memoiry, self-helpy. Because I wish I'd read a book when I was in my 30s and 40s about how you could happily have a life on your own."

“I reckon it's a really good idea, if you're on your own and feeling lonely, to move to a small place. I really do. I took a swim this morning and then stopped at the coffee shop, had coffee with a few characters, and had a few chats. That was nice. I reckon it really works.”

“I think the difference now for me is if you abandon me as a friend or a lover because you don't like what you're seeing, what I know now is I won't abandon me. I've now got my own back and I'm still learning about that. And it's that beautiful liberation of going: I can be imperfect now.”

Mentioned in this episode:

Nici on Instagram | Website

A Quiet Kitchen

More from A Quiet Kitchen

Discussion about this podcast

Courage & Spice
Courage and Spice
Hello, guys and gals and non-binary pals! You are warmly invited to Courage + Spice: the podcast for humans with self-doubt. You can expect inspiring interviews with ace humans + evidence-based approaches for you to try. If self-doubt is holding you back personally, relationally, creatively or professionally, Courage + Spice is especially for you.